Joint MLA/OLAC 33X/34X Task Group Recommendations Issued

The final report summarizing the work of a joint MLA/OLAC task group which worked to address issues connected to 23 additions to the Genre/Form Code and Term Source Codes list (, which are utilized in the 33X and 34X fields has been issued. The Joint MLA/OLAC 33X/34X Task Group, as it came to be known, conducted their work over the summer, with some revisions to that work completed later in the fall. The group’s full recommendations can be accessed here: The group was assembled by OLAC Cataloging Policy Committee Chair Bruce Evans and MLA CMC Content Standards Subcommittee Chair Mary Huismann, who also served as chair of the task group. Membership of the task group included: From MLA: Kristi Bergland, Patty Falk, Monica Figueroa, Karen Peters, Jim Soe Nyun, Michelle Urberg From OLAC: Melissa Burel, Scott Dutkiewicz, Bruce J. Evans, Greta de Groat, Rosemary Groenwald, Teressa Keenan, Yoko Kudo, Kelley

Read More »

CMC call for new members 2018

The MLA Cataloging and Metadata Committee invites all interested persons to apply to be part of its subcommittees. There are open positions on all CMC subcommittees: Content Standards, Encoding Standards, and Vocabularies.   If you are interested in being a part of CMC, please send a brief application addressed to the CMC chair or any of the current subcommittee chairs. Applications must be in writing and should state: 1) your specific interest with regards to the subcommittee(s) to which you would like to apply; 2) your cataloging/metadata background; and 3) your abilities to meet CMC service expectations. Applications must be received via email or posted to the bulletin board at the MLA conference by end of day on the Thursday (not the usual Friday this year) of MLA. (Email is preferable, and early submission is very helpful.)   CMC Chair: Tracey Snyder ( Content Standards Subcommittee: Mary Huismann ( Encoding

Read More »