Content Standards Subcommittee


The Content Standards Subcommittee participates in the development and revision of content standards related to description and access for music resources. The Subcommittee recommends MLA policy on the content of descriptive data elements and the formulation and management of authority data. Working through the appropriate channels and groups, the Subcommittee proposes changes to content standards as deemed necessary for access to music resources. The Subcommittee works on other matters deemed pertinent by the Cataloging and Metadata Committee and works with other CMC subcommittees or task groups as appropriate. The Subcommittee maintains documentation and MLA best practices related to topics specific to the subcommittee’s work.


  • Keith Knop, Chair

  • Anne Adams
  • Linda Bagley
  • Emily Colucci
  • Reed David
  • Chelsea Hoover
  • Karen Peters
  • Daniel Ray
  • Amanda Scott
  • Anthony Sharp
  • Amy Strickland
  • Casey Mullin (BIBCO Music Funnel Coordinator)
  • Mark Scharff (NACO-Music Project Coordinator)
  • Christopher Holden (LC)
  • Morris Levy (OCLC)

Latest News

RDA Best Practices Updates

Updates to two MLA RDA Best Practice supplement documents are now available via the CMC Best Practices page. Supplement 1: Guidelines for Describing and Encoding

Read More »